Ivor W. Hartmann is a Zimbabwean writer, editor, publisher, and visual artist. Awarded The Golden Baobab Prize (2009), finalist for the Yvonne Vera Award (2011), selected for The 20 in Twenty: The Best Short Stories of South Africa’s Democracy (2014), awarded third in the Jalada Prize for Literature (2015), and Nommo Awards nomination (2017). His works have appeared in many publications. He runs the StoryTime micro-press, publisher of the African Roar and AfroSF series of anthologies. He is a founding member of the African Speculative Fiction Society, and on the advisory board of Writers International Network Zimbabwe.

24 August 2011

'A Mouse amongst Men' short-listed for the Intwasa Yvonne Vera Award

Happy to announce that my short story 'A Mouse amongst Men' has been short-listed for the Zimbabwean, Intwasa Yvonne Vera Award. Yvonne Vera is one of my favourite writers so it is an honour to be in the running for this award named after her. There's some great writers on the list:

Intwasa Yvonne Vera Award Shortlist 2011

Ango Leonard’s Game - Mercy Dliwayo
A Mouse Amongst Men - Ivor Hartmann
A Moment of Madness - Thamsanqa Never Ncube
A Mixed Multitude - Philip Chidavaenzi
One - Blessing Musariri
Chanting Shadows - Mbonisi Pilani Ncube
The Sound of Silence - Lilian Dube
Memories of a past life - Bongani Ncube
The Last Place on Earth - Kathryn Truscott
Night Riding - Sarah Norman
Mr Pothole - Diana Charsley
Poor Signal - Emmanuel Sigauke
Ndebele is the new colored - Tswarelo Mothobe
Times Change - People Change - Tanya Hunt
Radio Culture is Dead - Elizabeth R. S. Muchemwa


This is a website for Zimbabwean Author Ivor W. Hartmann. All posts on this site are Copyright © Ivor W. Hartmann 2007-2011. All rights reserved.